Due to being both a major part within both the project and any brand itself, I shall now take a much deeper look into the form of typeface which shall be used for Boris’s branding.

Typeface has almost always been an essential part to any form of branding, especially new brands, as it ensures that the viewer of the brand knows the name/message of the brand without having to rely on remembering the name from just the logo itself. As a result, it is essential for me to also use some form of type in one way or another to promote Boris’s branding.

Due to Boris being a mostly formal person (especially now that he has apparently been told both other officials to better his professional image), I have stuck to the decision to use a formal typeface such as Roman, as this is a very common style of typeface used within formal situations and organisations.

First, I began by taking the type design which revolved around using Boris’s initials in a connected manner, as it was currently the design which I found the most interesting as it has a formal yet somewhat informal design, just like Boris.

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-10-57-43

I then began experimenting with it by using various other typefaces and positions to see which would be the most effective.

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-10-57-31

Among the various typefaces used, the one called “Perpetual” stuck out as the most fitting of the formal types, so I began to experiment further using it.

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-10-58-00

After looking at the deign a little bit I decided that maybe I should use the typeface in a slitty different way than I intended, as it seemed as though it would not fit with the brand design I currently going to use. Instead, I tried out the typeface on Boris’s full name in full-cap’s.

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-10-58-14

I honestly feel as though this type is actually more effective for the logo design that my original idea, as it is a much more adaptable and placeable type form around the logo. With a little twerking to the letter spacing, I came up with another idea of using something else to go under the name, in order to give it a little more meat on the page. After looking around for things to use for Boris, I ended up using the address for the House of Commons itself, since he is mostly working within the build as an official.

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-10-58-23

Happy with the design of the typeface, I quickly added the logo itself to finish up the overall appearance and placement within the final design (using the original design as a place holder for the possible final).

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-10-58-33

I am very happy with how the current design for Boris’s brand is turning out, as it is starting to look like something which you could find on a letter he would send to you. The type nicely complements the formal attitude of the logo’s image, and the use of the address will be a perfect addition to remind and/or informal viewers of the celebrity’s position and location.


With a little more time left to go, I also decided to create a quick arrangement for a possible letterhead for the project’s final designs. I created a blank page with the brand prototype on the top of the page, and the address again placed at the bottom (as it has to confirm the location of the letterhead, as some may be confused from the brand logo. In order to spruce the bottom type up a little more, I added a vector image of the House of Common’s logo above the type, as I felt that not only would it be logical to include it as a governmental document, but also due to the fact that it seems kind of fitting with the coin like appearance of the logo itself.

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-10-58-57

Final prototype design:

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-10-59-06

