Final Punctuation Design (and Layout)

Today I have been working on the layout and creation of the presentation of the punctuation mark’s design using some inspiration gained from a reviewer.

After having confronted some just previously to creating the presentation design for the punctuation mark, a person who I had review the design of my punctuation mark had given me a little bit of inspiration for the layout design for the mark. They suggested using a similar format to that of the last project by using a double page spread displaying the punctuation mark in a full size depiction on one page, followed by a page depicting the punctuation mark in various different typefaces, such as Bold, Italic and other typefaces.

I took this idea straight to InDesign in order to begin creating the layout for the presentation. I used the same sizes was I had used for the environment as it would save time figuring out my own design and due to this design not needing too much space because the lack of space needed.

I started off by creating the first page of the spread, placing the full blown version of the punctuation mark, as well as adding its name above. After adding the name of the mark, I decided to add an example piece of text to show how the mark would work within a normal circumstance, allowing viewers a little understanding on its functionality.

Screen Shot 2016-06-03 at 13.56.08

After doing so, I began work on the design for the second page of the spread by placing out the line layout.

Screen Shot 2016-06-03 at 14.05.39

After getting the lines into place, I began placing in the names for each example of the typeface, staring with the default style made in Arial, along with the bold and italic versions. I then copied this idea over to the commonly used Times New Roman, and the more odd looking Chalkduster typefaces.

Screen Shot 2016-06-03 at 14.06.33

With the names added I then placed in the mark designs which I had made read for the layout.

Screen Shot 2016-06-03 at 13.56.18


And with that, the design for the punctuation layout is complete.

Screen Shot 2016-06-03 at 14.12.25

Overall I am fairly happy with how the design for the punctuation mark has turned out within the end. I am not sure really how I feel good or bad about the piece as it is such a simplified concept for me and I cannot really argue whether something went right or wrong with such a small design. If anything, I found that the designs I used for the the creation of the italic versions were a little odd in my eyes as I am not entirely sure if they truly look like they are italic.

Leave a Reply

