Before I can even start my research into the project, I must first familiarize myself with the subject of ethics itself, as I am unsure of whether or not I am aware of the meaning of the term, or if I am just unsure/unaware of certain aspects of the subject. So, for today, I am going to do some research about the meaning/definition of what the term “ethics” is.


Ethics (from I have learnt) is the basis of morals within philosophy, and the thoughts and mindset that a person may have when thinking about or participating in another subject. A useful quote that I found from a pair of people called  Richard William Paul and Linda Elder defined ethics as “a set of concepts and principles that guide us in determining what behavior helps or harms sentient creatures”. (1)

The idea of ethics is that they are a set of principles that help define what human being consider morally right or wrong. For example, if a person started cutting down a large quantity of trees within a forest, people would consider that act to be ethically bad, as it would damage that area (or the entirety) of the forest. The act of someone donating to a charity on the over hand, is well often seen as a morally good act/choice, as it is seen as a kindhearted act.

 


Sources:

(1) – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethics 

 

 

