Today I decided to complete a task given to us in class, which was to listen to and review two songs given to us by other members of the class. The two songs I received were called “Respect” by Aretha Franklin, an the second being “California Dreamin'” by The Mamas & The Papas.

Respect

Originally I did not recognize the song by its name as I had never heard it called by name before, however, upon starting the song I almost immediately recognize it’s tune. Respect has an upbeat, happy tune song sung by its lead singer Franklin, with the lyrics singing about the woman just wanting respect from their lover in return for giving them their money to them. The music itself mainly consists of its drumming beat as well as smooth saxophones.

While I’m not much of a fan of the soul genre myself, I find the happy tunes and beautiful voice-work of the singer as a nice song that you can just sit down and relax to or dace to the beat.

California Dreamin’

This song, unlike the previous, is one I have yet to hear before (or at least remember hearing) and so took a little longer to get into the rhythm. California Dreamin’ is a song about the singer wanting to be in the sunny Los Angeles within California, rather than in the cold winter that he is currently walking in. The music mainly consists of its drumming rhythm and guitar tunes on the side.

Despite being another song out of my comfort zone, I found the song to be another catchy, peaceful beat that sit and listen to. I also found the lyrics themselves very easy to compare to as I would prefer the warm sun of California than a harsh winter in Britain any day of the week

