Idea Research – Edward de Bono

In order to get some new thoughts or inspirations to help me get a bit more knowledgeable about how I should handle new ideas and what things I should consider when making them, I looked around various places and sources before finding someone called Edward de Bono, and what he created to use as a guideline when trying to create new ideas, “The six thinking hats”. Edward de Bono is a Maltese physician, psychologist, author, inventor and consultant who originated the term of “lateral thinking” along with creating the six thinking hats in order to help people and businesses to think independently as well as think creatively.

The six thinking hats are 6 various rules you can follow when creating a new idea. The six hats (as the name suggests) refferes to which action you must concider within the idea. The six hats consist of:

  • The Managing Blue hat – What is the current subject? What are we thinking about? What is the end goal?
  • The Information White hat – Considering purely what information is available, what are the facts?
  • The Emotions Red hat – Intuitive or instinctive gut reactions or statements of emotional feeling (but not any justification)
  • The Discernment Black hat – Logic applied to identifying reasons to be cautious and conservative
  • The Optimistic response Yellow hat – Logic applied to identifying benefits, seeking harmony
  • The Creativity Green hat – Statements of provocation and investigation, seeing where a thought goes

I found the idea of these thinking hats very interesting as I had never thought of handling ideas in this sort of way before. I think this sort of idea creating method is something that I should hold onto within the future, as it may make the ideas I find even more stronger.

The reason why I decided to do some research about this sort of subject was to help improve my knowledge around what I should often consider when making up new ideas, and hopefully finding a strategy or routine of what I could think about before I try to turn that idea into reality.

Leave a Reply

