Today I decided to try practicing doing vector images on Adobe Illustrator to help hone my skills on the program. I took a photo from Moodle’s image archives of what appears to be a beauty model (image bellow) and turned it into a simplistic vector image.

model_Ai

In order to turn the photo into a vector image, I started by drawing an out line of the parts of the model that was skin. I then put another outline on the model’s hair and continued to repeat this until I had outlined each major part of the image (eyeshadow, lips, eyes, light hair strands). I made each outline a different colour in order to tell each one apart and prevent confusion.

Screen Shot 2015-10-14 at 12.43.46

After each part of the image was outlined, I began filling in the shapes they made with the appropriate colours. I did so by using the “eyedropper tool” to take the colours from the original image fill them into the right places. In the end, I had made a simplistic vector copy of the original image.

Screen Shot 2015-10-14 at 12.46.48

Finally, I added the shading of the image by creating outlines of the lighter and darker parts of the photo and filling them like before.

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 13.11.28

The reason why I decided to create this image was to try and jog my memory a bit about how to use Illustrator and see if there are still any new techniques to learn when using it. In this piece I practiced a bit with “layers”, something that I don’t often use (as I previously preferred to use the “grouping” function to separate parts of an image), and while a bit odd to get around using at first, I found the tool very useful at create a simplistic art piece like this one.

I quite enjoyed using illustrator again for this kind of exercise as I have actually used this program for similar tasks. I enjoyed it because of how easy and simple this technique can be most of the time, and also because of the resulting pieces that are created by this style of work. I also enjoy how the shading makes the image appear almost abstract in a way.

